• From
    • To


9 results for "al mvp"

Page of 1
  1. Howard is first African-American to win AL MVP

    Larry Schwartz

    Yankees catcher Elston Howard is the first African-American to be voted the American League's MVP.

    SpecialFeature | Conversation | November 05, 2001
  2. Gehrig's awesome year worthy of AL MVP

    Larry Schwartz

    Lou Gehrig is named the American League's MVP. Babe Ruth, who hit 60 home runs, is ineligible because he's already won the award.

    SpecialFeature | Conversation | October 08, 2001
  3. Fred Lynn earns AL MVP and Rookie Honors

    Larry Schwartz

    By winning the American League MVP, Red Sox centerfielder Fred Lynn becomes the first player to win that award and Rookie of the Year in the same season.

    SpecialFeature | Conversation | November 23, 2000
  4. Yaz's Triple Crown season worthy of AL MVP

    Larry Schwartz

    Carl Yastrzemski's Triple Crown season (.326 average, 121 RBI and 44 homers) earns him AL MVP honors. The 28-year-old Boston left-fielder helped lead the Red Sox from a ninth-place finish last year to their first pennant in 21 years.

    SpecialFeature | Conversation | November 11, 2000
  5. Mantle the unanimous winner as AL MVP

    Larry Schwartz

    Not only does Mickey Mantle win the Triple Crown, but today he is the unanimous choice for the American League Most Valuable Player award.

    SpecialFeature | Conversation | November 11, 2000
  6. Maris, 51, loses battle with lymphatic cancer

    Larry Schwartz

    Roger Maris, 51, a two-time American League MVP who broke Babe Ruth's single-season home run record by hitting 61 homers in 1961, dies at 51.

    SpecialFeature | Conversation | December 09, 2001
  7. Triple Crown winner jolted in MVP vote

    Larry Schwartz

    Though he won the Triple Crown, Boston's Ted Williams loses the American League MVP to the Yankees' Joe DiMaggio - by one vote.

    SpecialFeature | Conversation | November 24, 2000
  8. Robinson first to win both AL and NL MVP

    Larry Schwartz

    The Orioles' Frank Robinson is the unanimous choice for the American League MVP, becoming the first player to win MVPs in both leagues.

    SpecialFeature | Conversation | November 07, 2000
  9. Double X is first triple MVP Award winner

    Larry Schwartz

    Boston's Jimmie Foxx wins his third American League MVP, the first player to have won the award three times.

    SpecialFeature | Conversation | October 31, 2000