• From
    • To


200 results for "awards"

Page of 12
  1. Not enough MVP awards for Tigers' Davis

    Chris Low

    NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. -- Way back before Chris Davis had even dreamed about making the play of the year in college football (maybe the play of the decade), his head coach knew how important Davis would be to this Auburn team. "One of the keys to o...

    Blog | January 03, 2014
  2. Roger Staubach's Heisman Trophy a compliment to his teammates -- ...

    Chris Low

    One of the Heisman Trophy's most iconic winners Roger Staubach calls college football's highest individual honor a compliment to his 1963 teammates.

    Story | Conversation | August 15, 2013
  3. SEC has nine on Hornung watch list

    Chris Low

    The SEC leads the country with nine players on the preseason watch list for the Paul Hornung Award, which is presented annually to the most versatile player in major college football. Florida had two players on the list -- running back Trey Burton...

    Blog | July 05, 2013
  4. Missouri also honored with APR award

    Chris Low

    Missouri joins Alabama as the only two SEC football programs recognized by the NCAA for ranking in the top 10 percent in the nation in Academic Progress Rate (APR) for the 2011-12 academic year. The NCAA Division I Public Recognition Awards were a...

    Blog | June 06, 2013
  5. Mason runs the show in Dawgs' scrimmage

    Chris Low

    Hutson Mason has been yearning for his shot as Georgia's starting quarterback, and he got it Tuesday in the Bulldogs' first major scrimmage of the spring. Aaron Murray was away receiving an award, and Mason worked with the first-team offense. He f...

    Blog | March 27, 2013
  6. The SEC's best 25 players: No. 2

    Chris Low

    And then there were two. There's been some serious buzz lately about the No. 2 guy in our countdown. No. 2: Jadeveon Clowney, DE, South Carolina, So. 2012 summary: Clowney won the 2012 Ted Hendricks Award as the top defensive end in college foo...

    Blog | February 22, 2013
  7. The SEC's 25 best players: No. 14

    Chris Low

    The No. 14 player on our countdown was a tackling machine this season. No. 14: Kevin Minter, LB, LSU, RJr. 2012 summary: One of five finalists for the Butkus Award as the top linebacker in college football, Minter finished third in the SEC with...

    Blog | February 06, 2013
  8. SEC lunch links

    Chris Low

    Checking on what's making news in the SEC: Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel adds the Associated Press Player of the Year Award to his collection. Former Auburn coach Gene Chizik and his wife, Jonna, gave a special gift to a young girl battling a ...

    Blog | December 18, 2012
  9.'s All-SEC second team

    Chris Low

    The SEC is too good and too loaded with talent to award only first-team, All-SEC honors. The more I looked at our All-SEC team from earlier today, the more I realized how many outstanding players weren't on there. So we aim to please here on th...

    Blog | December 10, 2012
  10. Recapping the SEC award winners

    Chris Low

    Congratulations to all of the award winners and finalists this season in the SEC. Here's a quick recap: HEISMAN TROPHY Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel -- winner OUTLAND TROPHY (outstanding interior lineman) Texas A&M offensive tack...

    Blog | December 10, 2012
  11. Tide's Kirby Smart honored as top assistant

    Chris Low

    Alabama defensive coordinator Kirby Smart was named Tuesday as the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Assistant Coach of the Year. Smart, in his sixth season on the Alabama staff, won the Broyles Award in 2009 as the top assistant coach ...

    Blog | November 20, 2012
  12. Hogs' Cobi Hamilton on Biletnikoff list

    Chris Low

    Arkansas' Cobi Hamilton is the lone SEC player to make the list of semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award, which is presented annually to the top receiver in college football. Hamilton, a senior, leads the SEC with 73 catches and 1,149 receiving ...

    Blog | November 13, 2012
  13. SEC players up for awards

    Chris Low

    The 16 semifinalists for the 2012 Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation's most outstanding defensive player were announced Monday, and eight were from the SEC. No. 1 Alabama had two players on the list -- linebacker C.J. Mosley and cornerback Dee Mil...

    Blog | October 29, 2012
  14. Butkus list includes three SEC linebackers

    Chris Low

    The 2012 Butkus Award list has been trimmed to 12 semifinalists, and three of them are from the SEC. Georgia's Jarvis Jones, LSU's Kevin Minter and Alabama's C.J. Mosley all made the cut. The Butkus Award honors the nation's top linebacker. Bel...

    Blog | October 23, 2012
  15. Three from SEC make Davey O'Brien list

    Chris Low

    Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel, Alabama's AJ McCarron and Georgia's Aaron Murray have been chosen among the 16 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's best college quarterback. The semifinalists were selected by the Davey O'Brien nat...

    Blog | October 22, 2012
  16. SEC players, teams in Herbie Awards

    Chris Low

    ESPN's Kirk Herbstreit will present his 12th annual Herbie Awards tonight at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN. Herbstreit is picking the SEC's national championship streak to come to an end this season. He predicts Florida State to defeat USC in the BCS National...

    Blog | August 21, 2012