• From
    • To


134 results for "coach of the year"

Page of 8
  1. Bill O'Brien, Montee Ball win BTN awards

    Adam Rittenberg

    Football didn't have as big a presence as other sports during Wednesday's BTN awards, but one coach and one former player were recognized for their efforts last season. Penn State's Bill O'Brien was named Men's Team Coach of the Year after guiding...

    Blog | June 27, 2013
  2. PSU's O'Brien wins Bear Bryant award

    Adam Rittenberg

    Penn State's Bill O'Brien has earned another coaching honor for his Year 1 success in State College, and the latest award has a link to his predecessor. O'Brien on Thursday night was named the Bear Bryant Coach of the Year winner at a ceremony in ...

    Blog | January 18, 2013
  3. O'Brien, Meyer up for Liberty Mutual COY

    Adam Rittenberg

    Penn State's Bill O'Brien and Ohio State's Urban Meyer are among the 10 finalists for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award. The award is selected by fan voting, as well as a committee of more than 50 College Football Hall of Fame players and...

    Blog | December 04, 2012
  4. Why Meyer may never win top coach honor

    Adam Rittenberg

    Former Ohio State coach Jim Tressel was a victim of his own success when it came to winning Big Ten Coach of the Year honors. Tressel never claimed the award despite dominating the league during most of his Buckeyes tenure. If Tressel had a down y...

    Blog | November 28, 2012
  5. O'Brien's agent: Coach committed to PSU

    Adam Rittenberg

    It's a good night for Bill O'Brien and Penn State fans. O'Brien swept both Big Ten Coach of the Year awards after guiding the Lions to an 8-4 record in his first season as a head coach. And O'Brien's agent tells colleague Darren Rovell that O'Brie...

    Blog | November 27, 2012
  6. Big Ten Friday mailblog

    Adam Rittenberg

    Wishing you a good weekend of game watching. Tim from Hermosa Beach, Calif., writes: Adam,Should Wisconsin win out, win the Big Ten Championship, and win the Rose Bowl, could Bret Bielema be considered for Big Ten coach of the year? Yes, losing tw...

    Blog | October 12, 2012
  7. PSU can't forget O'Brien's instant impact

    Adam Rittenberg

    Shortly after Penn State rallied past Northwestern on Saturday for its fourth straight win, the Twitterverse began blowing up with praise for coach Bill O'Brien. @KirkHerbstreit: Bill O'Brien early front runner for Big 10 coach of the year with ...

    Blog | October 08, 2012
  8. Brady Hoke wins national coaching award

    Adam Rittenberg

    Michigan's Brady Hoke has been named the 2011 Collegiate Coach of the Year by the Maxwell Football Club, the club announced Monday. Hoke won Big Ten coach of the year honors in his first season in Ann Arbor. He guided Michigan to an 11-2 record an...

    Blog | January 30, 2012
  9. Paterno coaching award discontinued

    Adam Rittenberg

    The Maxwell Football Club announced Monday that it will no longer present the Joseph V. Paterno Coach of the Year award. The club, which is based outside Philadelphia, launched the award last year "to honor the spirit of Coach Paterno, whose longt...

    Blog | November 29, 2011
  10. 2011 All-Big Ten teams, individual awards

    Adam Rittenberg

    The Big Ten announced its 2011 all-conference teams and individual awards Monday night. The winners for Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year will be announced Wednesday. Here are th...

    Blog | November 28, 2011
  11. Who is the Big Ten's most valuable coach?

    Adam Rittenberg

    An odd factoid: Jim Tressel never won Big Ten Coach of the Year at Ohio State despite claiming seven league titles in 10 years at the school. Perhaps Tressel never took home the award because he coached a team many perceived as built to succeed ev...

    Blog | June 07, 2011
  12. Minnesota upsets Iowa to claim the pig

    Adam Rittenberg

    Jeff Horton won't win Big Ten Coach of the Year. That honor will deservedly go to Michigan State's Mark Dantonio or Wisconsin's Bret Bielema. But Horton deserves a ton of credit for keeping Minnesota on track through a very tough time. And today, ...

    Blog | November 27, 2010
  13. Revisiting the Ferentz-Tressel COY debate

    Adam Rittenberg

    Last week's NFL draft rekindled a hot topic on this blog -- the 2009 Big Ten Coach of the Year race between Iowa's Kirk Ferentz and Ohio State's Jim Tressel. As we all know, Ferentz won the award, his third after claiming the honor in both 2002 an...

    Blog | April 30, 2010
  14. OSU's Tressel wins Daugherty Award

    Adam Rittenberg

    Jim Tressel is still waiting for his first Big Ten Coach of the Year award, but the Ohio State boss has earned another significant honor. Tressel was named the 2010 recipient of the Duffy Daugherty Memorial Award for outstanding contributions to c...

    Blog | January 08, 2010
  15. Video: Tressel's long quest

    Adam Rittenberg

    Adam Rittenberg discusses what it will take for Jim Tressel to win Big Ten coach of the year....

    Blog | November 24, 2009
  16. Iowa's Ferentz for Big Ten coach of the year

    Adam Rittenberg

    The coach of the year race came down to two candidates: Iowa's Kirk Ferentz and Ohio State's Jim Tressel. Ferentz led Iowa through a maze of obstacles and wild games to a 10-2 record and a possible BCS at-large berth. Tressel did what he does best, w...

    Blog | November 23, 2009